Was that a Hyena?

So, I really have no clue what I’m doing as far as running goes. I have a pretty good idea, I think, but lack a lot of the knowledge and essential garb for truly embracing the lifestyle. That’s okay, for now… I don’t know what a technical shirt is, (Anyone wanna field that one?) And chafing balm? I would’ve found that one out the painful way. I run in worn out sneakers (which my knees are thanking me for….) But like I said, I am shooting for June. In June the heavens will open up with beautiful singing angels and I will be able to start purchasing the necessities of running.

Until then…….. Does anyone have a good list of stuff I can’t live (or run) without? What products work best for you, and which ones I shouldn’t give a second glance?

Oh yes, since this blog is supposed to be about posting my workouts, I shall post yesterday’s run…

I am doing the couch to 5k and since I don’t have one of those “Smart Phones” (I truly live in the stone age) I scoured the internet to find an intervals podcast to download on my Ipod. Check out DJ Beatsmith’s Podrunner Intervals, the music is upbeat and motivating, and I love not having to glance at my ipod every 3 seconds and try to calculate how long it’s been, and when I need to switch from running to walking… (EPIC FAIL)

So, yesterday was Week 2, Day 2, and the set was 28 min long. I did amazingly well, considering I’d taken 3 days off and I’m only into my second week. I felt like I could’ve continued running (and I probably should have).

I love the clarity of mind you get from running, and I was laughing like a hyena when I realized I’d completed the workout already (Runner’s high, anyone?). The accomplishment (although minute to you seasoned runners) amazes me. I can’t believe it’s only been 2 weeks since day 1, when I swear I was going into cardiac arrest on the side of the road (Picture a puddle of a girl lying in a gutter, pounding on her chest screaming “It’s OKAY, I know CPR”).

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ha! I returned to running after a year of illness and injury and I felt the same way on the first day, but had to continue because a New York gutter is not where you want to spend any time. Today is week 2, day 1 for me. Essentials are good shoes. I use Newton Running shoes because I need shoes for a midfoot strike and they have some good ones but they make heel strike shoes as well. They are expensive but worth it. Before that I had some pretty good Saucony but they weren’t right for my running needs. Other than the shoes and a really good jog bra nothing is essential except a positive attitude. You can pick up what you need as you get more into running lifestyle. Each runners needs are specific to them. I need an arm band to hold my smart phone but you might not need that. I am currently trying to figure out how to take water on my runs without having to carry it. You’re doing great! Keep going!

    • I’m currently nursing bum knees but once I feel better I’m going to get fitted for a good shoe. What a set back! : ( I commend you for finding the motivation to start running again after a year off! I am devastated right now, the wind is out of my sails and I’m being devoured by the Kraken, but time will heal!
      : )

Leave a Reply

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

I Run For Donuts

A twenty-something with a newfound love for running and a killer sweet tooth

Run Hard. Live Life. Be Happy.

Happiness comes from within, it cannot be attained with an image.

The Spicy Simmer

Find it. Cook it. Love it. Blog it.

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

A Slammin' Adventure

PocketGail shares her rules (and tools) for adventuring through life with a happy heart!

abeginnerrunner

A fine WordPress.com site

On the Road to Being Happy

I'm not happy - but I want to be!

FEAR

Forget Everything And Run

therunningn00b

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Countdown From 50

All the things I wanted to do when I was younger but didn't have the time.

Ritsa Runs on Fitness

The everyday life of a fitness enthusiast

ONWARD! The Sole Revolution

The "No Excuses" Approach to life, sisterhood and ROCKIN' the road.

Philly Tales and Trails

Running adventures through the City of Brotherly Love

